- Duration: 24 hours
How to Renew Your Florida Insurance License
- 24 hours biennially for Producers and Adjusters licensed less than 6 years
- 20 hours biennially for Producers and Adjusters licensed 6 years or more
Compliance Renewal Date
Florida producer licenses are perpetual but will expire if more than 48 months go by without an appointment.
Continuing education is due by the last day of the licensee’s birth month, biennially. The first renewal will not be due until after the licensee has been licensed for at least 2 years.
You may also need to take specific courses or earn specific credit types to renew your license. These course completions will count toward the total hour requirement.
No line specific requirement is required. Any course type is allowed.
For All Licenses:
Law & Ethics
5 hrs – Producers & Adjusters must complete 5 hrs of Law & Ethics as part of the total requirement. If licensed in more than one line, only one 5-hour course must be completed. (This requirement replaces the previous Ethics and Senior Suitability requirements.)
Long-Term Care Training
All health agents must complete 8 hours of initial long-term care insurance training, and must complete 4 hours of additional training each 24-month period thereafter. Appointing insurers bear the responsibility of confirming that this training requirement has been met by their agents.
This state has issued a notice reminding licensees who sell flood insurance of their requirement to comply with the minimum 3 hours of training requirements established by FEMA and the National Flood Insurance Program.
All Other State Requirements
A licensee (Producer & Adjuster) who has been licensed for 6 years or less must complete a minimum of 24 hours of continuing education every 2 years (5 hours of Law and Ethics update & 19 hours of Elective credits) for compliance cycles ending 10/31/2014 or later.
A licensee (Producer & Adjuster) who has been licensed for 6 or more years must complete a minimum of 20 hours of continuing education every 2 years (5 hours of Law and Ethics update & 15 hours of Elective credits) for compliance cycles ending 10/31/2014 or later. As part of the total hours, each licensee must complete a 5-hour Law and Ethics update course every 2 years which is specific to the license held by the licensee. A licensee who holds multiple insurance licenses must complete an update course that is specific to at least one of the licenses held. Except as otherwise specified, any remaining required hours of continuing education are elective and may consist of any approved continuing education course.
Life (02-16 & 02-14) = 5 hours of Law and Ethics update (5-214) and Elective credits
Health (02-40) = 5 hours of Law and Ethics update (5-240) and Elective credits
Life and Health (02-15 & 02-18) = 5 hours of Law and Ethics update (5-215) and Elective credits
General Lines (02-20) = 5 hours of Law and Ethics update (5-220) and Elective credits
Personal Lines (20-44) = 5 hours of Law and Ethics update (5-220) and Elective credits
All Lines Adjusters (06-20, 05-20 & 70-20) = 5 hours of Law and Ethics update (5-620) and Elective credits
Public Adjusters* (03-20) = 5 hours of Law and Ethics update (5-320) and Public Adjuster Elective Credits
*Public Adjusters (03-20) can only satisfy elective credits by taking CE courses specifically approved for Public Adjusters. These courses are not currently offered by Kaplan
This state has issued a notice reminding licensees who sell flood insurance of their requirement to comply with the minimum training requirements established by FEMA and the National Flood Insurance Program.
To find out your CE requirement and your CE status, please go to www.myfloridacfo.com/division/agents/#U_PwnmOTE08. Click on My Profile, log in, and click on CE Status. Contact the department at 850-413-3137 if you have questions regarding your requirement.
Non Resident Requirements
Non-resident Florida licensees who comply with the CE requirements in their resident state are exempt from Florida CE. Non-resident adjusters may meet the CE requirement of their resident state or any state’s CE requirement where an adjuster license is held. Non-resident agents must comply with the LTC training for this state or another state which meets the NAIC LTC Model training outline.
A course may not be taken for credit more than once within two (2) years from the original completion date.
Online certification exams are closed book. Course materials are not available while the exam is in progress. The final exam must be passed with a score of 70% or higher to receive CE credit. If the exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.
Students are required to acknowledge their understanding that the course examination must be completed unassisted by any person. The student acknowledgement shall also include the studentÃ¢â‚¬â„¢s understanding that a violation of such standards shall result in the loss of course credit and administrative sanction by the Florida Department of Financial Services.
Florida resident licensees must complete their CE requirements by the last day of their birth month every two years. If they have not been licensed for a full two year period by the initial CE deadline, then the deadline is extended to the next year’s birth month.
Excess hours up to 24 hours may be carried over to the next reporting period.
Report within 21 days of completion. Need Agent’s license number to report.
Individuals acting as instructors for continuing education courses receive the same amount of CE credit as his or her students receive for taking the class.
Agents licensed for 25 years or more, who also hold a CLU or CPCU designation, or who also have a B.S. degree in risk management or insurance with 18 or more semester hours in upper-level insurance-related courses, must complete 12 hours biennially.
Acceptable Training Methods
- Company Seminars
- Correspondence (Print)
- Online (Internet Delivery)
“Did You Find What You Need?” For Additional Renewal Information:
- National and/or State Licensing Authority (Click Here)
Disclaimer: Course requirements and pricing are subject to change. Students are advised to verify all necessary licensing and education requirements with the appropriate state department or licensing agency prior to purchase. All courses offered on this site are processed and administered through third-party companies. Cameron.Academy does not process payments nor issue refunds. Responsibilities of the user-selected third-party company (or companies) include publishing and updating content, payment processing and refunds, administering and/or hosting courses, monitoring, grading, reporting, issuing certification (paper and/or digital), and providing various products. Average salary statistics may vary and are published by ZipRecruiter via their website. Cameron.Academy does not assume responsibility for this third-party data and users should independently research its’ accuracy. All customer and/or technical support will be provided through the user-selected third-party. Therefore, Cameron.Academy does not assume any responsibility nor liability for issues that may arise as a result of purchasing these third-party courses and/or products.