South Dakota Insurance Agent 10-Hour Continuing Education Course (Life, Health, Property, and Casualty)

Price

Free
  • Duration: 10 hours
Course Types:
Professions:
States:
Share This Course:

How to Renew Your South Dakota Insurance License

General Requirements:

Total Hours

  • 10 hours biennially for Life/Health OR Property/Casualty licenses
  • 20 hours biennially for combined Life/Health AND Property/Casualty licenses.
  • 4 hours biennially for Crop Only licenses
  • 10 hours biennially for Crop and Life/Health licenses (2 Crop/8 L&H)
  • 10 hours biennially for Crop and Property/Casualty licenses (2 Crop/8 P&C)
  • 20 hours biennially for Crop and Life/Health and Property/Casualty licenses (2 Crop/8 P&C/10 L&H)
  • 10 hours biennially for licensees of a farm mutual insurer (in PC insurance)

Compliance Renewal Date

Renewal date is the last day of licensee’s of birth month biennially, based on odd or even birth year. If a resident producer adds a qualification to their existing license, the Continuing Education (CE) requirements for the new qualification will be waived until after their next renewal.

You may also need to take specific courses or earn specific credit types to renew your license. These course completions will count toward the total hour requirement.

For All Licenses:

Course must be taken in the lines for which license is held. A minimum of 8 hours in each line must be taken for producers holding both Life & Health and Property & Casualty licenses. Hours in the General type cannot be applied toward Crop licenses. Company-sponsored courses are limited to 50% of the requirement for each line – does not apply to licensees required to only complete 5 credit hours or less.

Annuity Requirements

Effective July 1, 2012, an insurance producer who engages in the sale of annuity products must complete a one-time 4 hour approved training course. Producers who hold a life license and desire to sell annuities are required to complete the one-time, four hour training course six months after the effective date of this requirement. Producers who obtain a life license may not sell an annuity product until the training is completed. Producers may complete the one-time, four hour requirement through either classroom or self-study methods. The satisfaction of the training requirements of another state that are substantially similar to the South Dakota requirements shall be deemed to satisfy the requirement in South Dakota.


Long-Term Care Training

Producers must complete an initial training course prior to selling long-term care products and ongoing training every 24 months thereafter. The initial training must consist of 8 hours; ongoing training must be at least 4 hours. The training requirement applies to both residents and nonresidents, although nonresidents meeting the same requirement for another state will satisfy this state’s requirement, provided nonresidents are familiar with South Dakota LTC laws. Residents may earn CE credit if the training was approved for CE.


Flood Requirements

This state has issued a notice reminding licensees who sell flood insurance of their requirement to comply with the minimum 3 hours of training requirements established by FEMA and the National Flood Insurance Program.


All Other State Requirements

Resident Requirements

Licensees must complete a minimum of 10 CE hours every two years from courses certified for each of their license types. Licensees with both L/H and P/C licenses must meet 20 CE credit hours every two years, with at least 8 hours in one line.

For CE hours required for licensees that become licensed during their first two-year reporting period, contact the South Dakota Insurance Department via email (jo.mikkelsen@state.sd.us) to determine the amount of prorated hours required.

Licensees who hold a crop hail qualification and only L/H or P/C shall obtain at least 10 hours of continuing education. Two continuing education hours must be certified crop hail courses and only two hours in certified crop hail courses will count towards the required 10 hours. If the licensee holds both a L/H and P/C qualification, including a crop hail qualification, the licensee shall complete at least 20 hours of continuing education with two hours in certified crop hail courses. Only two hours in certified crop hail courses will count towards the required ten hours.

No more than 50% of the hours can come from courses sponsored by any one insurer.

Licensees who hold Crop authority must complete 4 hours biennially in crop insurance.

This state has issued a notice reminding licensees who sell flood insurance of their requirement to comply with the minimum training requirements established by FEMA and the National Flood Insurance Program.

Non Resident Requirements

There are no non-resident continuing education requirements in South Dakota.

Course Requirements

Bio data/security questions – students will be asked bio data questions when they log into their course and prior to beginning the final exam.

You must complete the course before gaining access to the final exam.

Course Repetition

Course repetition is not permitted within the compliance/renewal period.

Exam Rules

Bio data/security questions – students will be asked bio data questions when they log into their course and prior to beginning the final exam.

You must complete the course before gaining access to the final exam.

Online certification exams are closed book. Course materials are not available while the exam is in progress. The final exam must be passed with a score of 70% or higher to receive CE credit. If the exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.

Period Requirements

South Dakota resident licensees must complete their CE requirements every two years by the last day of their birth month.

Carryover Criteria Requirements

Carryover of CE hours is not permitted.

Reporting Requirements

Report within 14 days of completion. Need Agent’s SSN or license number to report.

State Reporting Fees

The SD Department of Insurance requires a course reporting fee of $1.00 per credit hour (online, self-study and classroom courses). This state reporting fee will be automatically charged to you (on the last credit card used in your account) each time you complete an online, self-study, or classroom course.

Exemptions

A licensee who has reached the age of 65 prior to July 1, 2006 and has been licensed for at least 10 years or who has reached 65 after July 1, 2006 and has been licensed for at least 10 years and who no longer sells, solicits or negotiates insurance is exempt from all continuing education requirements.

Acceptable Training Methods

  • Online (Internet Delivery)
  • Correspondence (Print)
  • Company Seminars
  • Classroom
  • CBT/CD-ROM (Computer-Based Training)

“Did You Find What You Need?” For Additional Renewal Information:

Disclaimer: Course requirements and pricing are subject to change. Students are advised to verify all necessary licensing and education requirements with the appropriate state department or licensing agency prior to purchase. All courses offered on this site are processed and administered through third-party companies. Cameron.Academy does not process payments nor issue refunds. Responsibilities of the user-selected third-party company (or companies) include publishing and updating content, payment processing and refunds, administering and/or hosting courses, monitoring, grading, reporting, issuing certification (paper and/or digital), and providing various products. Average salary statistics may vary and are published by ZipRecruiter via their website. Cameron.Academy does not assume responsibility for this third-party data and users should independently research its’ accuracy. All customer and/or technical support will be provided through the user-selected third-party. Therefore, Cameron.Academy does not assume any responsibility nor liability for issues that may arise as a result of purchasing these third-party courses and/or products.