- Duration: 24 hours
How to Get a West Virginia Mortgage Loan Originator (MLO) License
- Must be at least 18 years of age or older
- Have a high school diploma or equivalent
- Possess a social security number
- Have established credit in the U.S.
Activities Authorized Under This License
This license authorizes the following activities:
- First & Second Mortgage Brokering
- Foreclosure Consulting/Foreclosure Rescue
- Home Equity Lending/Lines of Credit
- Reverse Mortgage Activities o High Cost Home Loans
- Third Party Mortgage Loan Processing (1099 Employees Only)
- Third Party Mortgage Loan Underwriting (1099 Employees Only)
- Mortgage Loan Modifications
Step 1: Obtain an NMLS Unique Identifier
Go to statemortgageregistry.com and click on “Request an Account” at the bottom. To get the NMLS number is simple, and at no cost. They issued the number instantly, but be sure not to display it until you are properly licensed.
Step 2: Criminal Background Check
An applicant is required to authorize a Federal (FBI) criminal background check (CBC) through NMLS. Each state also requires a criminal history background check.
The applicant may request a State criminal background check and pay for any applicable fees at the time the Federal (FBI) criminal background check is scheduled through NMLS.
Step 3: Pre-License Education Requirements
*Alert: Effective June 1, 2018, new state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 24 hours of NMLS-approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of nontraditional mortgage lending, 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives) + 4 hours of WV law. West Virginia has a requirement for 4 hours of instruction on state-specific law which may be satisfied by either taking a WV comprehensive course or a state-specific elective course. Number of hours is 3/3/2/12/+ 4hrs of WV law = 24
Step 4. Pass Your Exams
You are required to take and pass the SAFE Act National Test with Uniform State Test (UST). Our recommendation is to take the test within 10 after you’ve completed the 20 hour pre-licensing course. A score of 75% or better is required to pass the SAFE Act test.
- TEST ENROLLMENT: First you must create a TEST ENROLLMENT on the NMLS website. You will pay $110 (fee may vary) for the National Test with Uniform State Test (UST) upon the enrollment. Creating the enrollment is what will give you permission to schedule the test.
- SCHEDULE YOUR TESTS: **You must pay for the tests in the step above BEFORE you can schedule a test date.** The tests are given by Prometric Testing Centers, and they have centers located throughout the state and across the country.
- If you fail the exam: You must wait 30 days to retake the exam. If you fail 3 times, then you must wait at least 180 days (6 months) to retake the exam.
Step 4: Submit the MU4 Application
*Complete after you’ve attended the 20 Hour SAFE Act Comprehensive Course and passed the National exam*
- Loan Originator applicants must submit the “Uniform Individual Mortgage License/Registration & Consent Form,” also known as the MU4 APPLICATION on the NMLS website.
- FEES: You must pay a $195 (price may vary) nonrefundable application fee, a $20 (price may vary) nonrefundable Mortgage Guaranty Trust Fund fee and a $60 (fee may vary) NMLS processing fee when you apply.
- Credit Report: Authorization for a credit report must be completed. Upon initial authorization, you are required to complete an Identity Verification Process (IDV) within the Individual Form (MU4). See the Individual (MU4) Credit Report Quick Guide for instructions on completing the IDV. Note: The same credit report can be used for any existing or additional licenses for up to 30 days. The cost of the credit report is $15 (fee may vary).
- Exam Prep Course (Click Here)
“Did You Find What You Need?” For Additional Resources & Testing:
Disclaimer: Course requirements and pricing are subject to change. Students are advised to verify all necessary licensing and education requirements with the appropriate state department or licensing agency prior to purchase. All courses offered on this site are processed and administered through third-party companies. Cameron.Academy does not process payments nor issue refunds. Responsibilities of the user-selected third-party company (or companies) include publishing and updating content, payment processing and refunds, administering and/or hosting courses, monitoring, grading, reporting, issuing certification (paper and/or digital), and providing various products. All customer and/or technical support will be provided through the user-selected third-party. Therefore, Cameron.Academy does not assume any responsibility nor liability for issues that may arise as a result of purchasing these third-party courses and/or products.